Rishikesh Yogni Nirvana

Guide to 7 Chakras and Meaning

Chakras explained in simple for beginners

According to Hindu Upanishads, our higher self is covered inside five layers which are known as panch koshas or five layers of existence or five bodies, and every now and then we identify ourselves with one of these layers never getting connected to the real source of ours. It is believed in order to connect to our real nature we must eliminate the disturbing vibrations of each kosha by consciously making them with the help of yoga practices.

These are the seven layers of Chakras:

  1. Ann may kosha (Physical body)
  2. Pranmay kosha (vital energy body)
  3. Manomay kosha (Mental body)
  4. Vijnanamay kosha (Wisdom body)
  5. Anandmay kosha (Bliss body)

Out of these five layers, Pranmay kosha, or vital energy body is the layer where exactly our life energy is said to be traveling and taking care of our existence. Within this vital energy, the body is present our 114 chakras and 72000 nadis.

The word chakra means a “wheel”, this way we call these chakras energy wheels or energy centers. On the other handmaids are known as “energy channels” through which the circulation of energy takes place. It is believed that all the imbalances we are facing in our physical body are because of the blockages in energy channels inside the vital energy body. Whatever the energy we are receiving either through our breathing, food, or any other sources, chakras (energy centers) receive the energy and with the help of nadis (energy channels) spread the energy all over the body for our overall well-being. If the chakras are blocked and there are blockages within the flow of energy we have to face imbalances physically, mentally, emotionally, and spiritually.

Out of the 114 chakras we have 7 major chakras which are aligned with the spine from the very base of its till the top of the head. Let us understand all these 7 chakras, their location, functions, imbalances, and how we can keep them open and balanced in detail.

Chakras explained in simple for beginners


mooldharMooladhar (Root chakra)

  • Location: Base of spine (coccyx)
  • Mantra: Lam
  • Color: Red
  • Element: Earth
  • Mental Functions: Existence, Security, survival, safety, groundings
  • Physical functions: Excretory system, legs, spinal column
  • Imbalances: Anxiety, fear, safety issues, lower back pain, fatigue, sciatica, cold feet, rectum issues.
  • Stimulants: Walking barefoot, sitting on the floor, nature’s walk, physical exercises, the root lock, gardening, Prithvi mudra (touching tip of the thumb to fourth finger), Acquiring red color ( Red food, drinks, gems, clothes)


swadisthanaSwadisthana (Sacral chakra)

  • Location: pubis
  • Mantra: Vam
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Mental Functions: Creativity, enjoyment, pleasure, sensuality, sensing ability, sexuality
  • Physical functions: Reproductive organs
  • Imbalances: Addictions, guilt, disgust, infertility, depression, impotency, urinary issues, pcod.
  • Stimulants: Embracing sensations, swimming, taking massages, pelvic opening exercises, hot aromatic showers, kegel’s exercises, varun mudra (touching tip of thumb to last finger), Acquiring orange color ( Orange food, drinks, gems, clothes)


VishudhiManipura (Solar plexus chakra )

  • Location: Above the navel
  • Mantra: Ram
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Mental Functions: Self esteem, sense of humour, intellect, ability to take actions, dominance, memory, chakra of action
  • Physical functions: Digestive organs
  • Imbalances: Poor memory, low self esteem, lack nervousness, lack of sense of humour, indigestion, constipation, acidity, gastric ulcers,
  • Stimulants: Learning, Sunshine, Reading, trying new things, Twisting postures, eating healthy, kapalbhati, surya mudra (Placing thumb over bent fourth finger), Acquiring yellow color ( yellow food, drinks, gems, clothes)

AnahataAnahata (Heart Chakra)

  • Location: Centre of chest
  • Mantra: Yam
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Mental Functions: Emotions, love, kindness, compassion, benevolence, gratitude, empathy, relationships
  • Physical functions: Cardiovascular
  • Imbalances: Chest pain, heart issues, breathing disorders, breast cancers, emotional blockages, depression, stress, apathetic, feeling of loneliness, PTSD
  • Stimulants: Spending good times with friends and family, nature’s walk, Loving kindness meditation, practicing gratitude and contentment and acceptance, heart mudra ( index finger at the base of thumb while touching tip of thumb to tip of middle and fourth finger), chest opening postures, cardio exercises , pranayama, vayu mudra (Placing thumb over bent index finger), Acquiring green colour ( green food, drinks, gems, clothes)


VishudhiVishudhi (Throat chakra )

  • Location: Throat
  • Mantra: Ham
  • Color: Blue
  • Element: Space / Ether
  • Mental Functions: Expressions, communication, trust and loyalty, planning, self belief,
  • Physical functions: Thyroid
  • Imbalances: Hesitations, fear of being judged, introvert, shyness, alogia, stammering, self doubt, mood swings, thyroid imbalances, sore throat, ear infections, mouth and jaw issues.
  • Stimulants: singing, poetry, painting, writing journal, acting, hosting, addressing people, public speech, inversion postures, humming bee breathing, Aakash mudra (Placing thumb on tip of middle finger), Acquiring blue colour( Blue food, drinks, gems, clothes)


AjnaAjna (Third eye)

  • Location: Eyebrows center
  • Mantra: Om
  • Color: Indigo
  • Element: Thought
  • Mental Functions: Intuitions, insight, psychic abilities, concentration, decision-making, perception, self-realisation, judgment
  • Physical functions: Pineal Gland
  • Imbalances: Sleeping disorder, migraine, poor eyesight, delusion, poor concentration, indecisive, dilemma, confusion, headaches, poor memory,
  • Stimulants: Gazing exercises, Trataka, Meditation, Star gazing, inversion postures, Shambhvi mudra (Gazing on eyebrow center), Acquiring indigo color ( Indigo food, drinks, gems, clothes)

SahstraraSahstrara (Crown chakra)

  • Location: Crown of head
  • Mantra: AUM
  • Color: Violet
  • Element: Light
  • Mental Functions: Knowingness, spirituality, connection, and belief in higher energies, the connection of individual consciousness to divine or supreme consciousness.
  • Physical functions: Nervous system / pituitary gland
  • Imbalances: Mental illness, seizures, vertigo, epilepsy, neuralgia, co-ordination issues, photosensitive, delusion, dullness, ignorance, left and right brain imbalance
  • Stimulants: Meditation, alternative nostril breathing, spirituality, reading scriptures, all yoga practices, Anjali mudra (Joining both palms), Acquiring violet color ( violet food, drinks, gems, clothes)

Apart from the above-mentioned stimulants one of the best ways to balance chakras is to meditate on these energy centers while chanting the seed mantra associated with each chakra.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Click one of our contacts below to chat on WhatsApp